A selection of students' work  .

A selection of  work – traditional and experimental -by students at Surval, Switzerland

Running workshops on calligraphy and handwriting skills in schools is something I have done quite a bit of in the last few months.  My recent trip to teach at Surval Montreux ,an International School , with spectacular views overlooking Lake Geneva in Switzerland,  was a particular highlight – in all senses of the word !

The cream building, top right, is the international school where I was teaching in Switzerland

The cream coloured building, top right, is the international school where I was teaching in Switzerland

I had previously completed a commission for the entrance hall of the new school and I was thrilled to be invited to visit and have the opportunity to teach pupils from all over the world. The sessions took place over three days, giving me time to work with different age groups and deliver a variety of activities. The participants engaged well, despite the jet lag (and unfamiliar surroundings for some new pupils ) . I loved their enthusiasm and ability to slow down , absorb and apply the techniques to be able to create something they were really proud of . I am hopeful that some of them may develop a real interest in lettering arts and spread the word within their own families and cultures .

Work by students after just two hours

Work by students after just two hours

(More information on the workshops can be found in the school website link above .)

A while back I bumped into an ex school pupil I had taught about 20 years previously. I was heartened by her comment that she still had good handwriting.

Teaching youngsters can be challenging but knowing that there is a possibility that you might make a  difference in their lives by sparking an interest or helping them develop life long skills makes it very worthwhile.